Desperately Seeking Susan Jacket Original Sold for over $200,000

Thirty years after the release of Desperately Seeking Susan, the love for the movie and Madonna’s iconic style is still running strong as exemplified by the recent auction where the original jacket from the movie was sold for $252,000 and that famous single earring went for $34,375.

As an 80s kid, I was in LOVE with that movie and wanted that jacket so bad! So when I started making costumes, that jacket was always on my to-do list. I started out with the common misconception that the jacket was black. I also thought it was leather! I was wrong on both accounts. The material is a metallic dark green with gold threads as shown in these photos of the original jacket posted for the Rock-n-Roll Auction.

I do make my own version, which is an olive color with a slight sheen to it. And because so many people still request it in black, I’ll soon be doing it in black as well! I call it the Desperately 80s Jacket. My back design is the same idea but on a slightly smaller scale. Definitely a fan-made ode to the movie and not an exact replica. I really enjoy making these though!

Leave a Reply

