DragonCon 2013 Wrap-up

DragonCon, wow what a weekend! This was a year for trying new things. After going for the last 8 years I decided it was time to shake things up. I skipped Thursday and got in on Friday so it was a shorter trip than usual. But somehow I feel like I managed to pack in more fun.

Star Wars and Arrested Development

We found a never-nude just waiting for the call from Blue Man Group!

We stayed at the airport Hilton, so this was my first time staying off-site. They had really nice big bus shuttles that ran on time, though they needed to be a bit more frequent. We did have to resort to a cab a few times. But overall it was still kind of nice to be able to get away from the madness and relax, recharge and go back out. Also, we got a pretty sweet hotel room (a junior suite) for a fraction of the cost of a regular room at the Hyatt where we usually stay. And no elevator waits! Not even on check-out day, which is usually when you spend 30 min. letting packed elevators go by.

Friday night we did our Star Wars thing, had some drinks and took it easy because we were all getting up bright and early to be ready for the parade at 8AM. After saying I was going to do it for the last 3 years, I finally got my butt out of bed on time and got down there. It was a great experience! Pretty amazing to see it from the inside. So many people! And they were everywhere from the streets to the parking garages. I wanted to do something other than just walk, so I hula hoped the whole way. I feel like I got my workout in for the next week.

DragonCon Parade

DragonCon Parade

After the parade I was pretty beat and wanted to get out of my sweaty Sith cheerleader uniform so we headed back to the hotel for a nap before the aquarium. This was my first time ever going. I totally recommend it! All the exhibits are open and there are so many things to see. Lots of people wore costumes and the music was amazing, thanks to DJ Spider. I had avoided going every year because I thought it was crazy to leave DragonCon on a Saturday night! Well, the aquarium feels like you are still at DC but with all the other cool stuff as well. And we got back to the main areas just before 11PM so we didn’t feel like we missed the big Saturday night thing.

The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid

Sunday was DC Bombshell debut day, and all the bombshells assembled for a quick shoot at the Sheraton with Nathan Carter before heading over to the Marriot to shoot with SGH Photoart. After all the shooting was done, we wandered around a bit before heading back to change into our 80’s video game themed evening wear. We got together at Trader Vic’s for a bite to eat (don’t try this without reservations!) And then headed over to check out the 8-bit Dance Party hosted by Con*Tourage. The party did not disappoint! We danced for nearly 4 hours, ran into lots of friends and basically partied our asses off till 2AM. After that is was a quick bite of pizza and time to say goodbye to DC for another year!

DC Bombshells

DC Bombshells

My DC pics on facebook are public, check out the 3 days here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.731926026834582.1073741832.100000515752800&type=1&l=4ad672e748

And the parade here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.732302860130232.1073741833.100000515752800&type=1&l=f23317b4c8

Leave a Reply

