Desperately Seeking Susan Jacket replica Top 10 Frequently Asked Questions

When I started making this jacket I discovered a lot of people loved this movie as much as I did. I was a huge Madonna fan when I was little, and still am. While the movie isn’t exactly Oscar material, it was entertaining and really embodied Madonna’s unique 80s style. The stand-out piece in the costume wardrobe was that jacket, reportedly owned by Jimi Hendrix…or was it Elvis? Either way, we all wanted one. And now you can have your very own Desperately Seeking Susan jacket!

12/2/16 EDIT: The Three Muses website is closing Dec. 16, but I will still be making costumes and jackets. I post when new things are ready on my Facebook page and through an e-mail list that is for jackets only.

The list is only sent out when a new one is ready and it is very easy to unsubscribe at any time. People on the list get the FIRST chance at the jackets before they are posted online for sale. The ones I personally make always turn out a little different each time so I do not take custom orders for them, but rather make and post for sale when ready.

If you would like to join that list, please go to this link and fill out the form:
Susan Jacket List

Or follow my Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CandyKcosplay

Desperately Seeking Susan jacket

Desperately Seeking Susan jacket

FAQ: (updated to reflect new info 12/2/16)

1) Is this an exact replica?

No. These are handmade and I would consider them more like “artistic interpretations.” This is not a manufactured copy. Please don’t ask me to make an exact replica- what you see is what I make.

2) Do you take custom requests?

I am no longer doing custom requests.

3) How often do you make them?

I am trying to make one every couple weeks starting in January. I have just become a stay at home mom, trying to work at home, so still trying to figure out how to make that work.

4) Where can I buy one?

I sometimes post them in my Etsy shop at: https://www.etsy.com/shop/CandyKcosplay , but only after it goes out to the mailing list. For first dibs, please join at: Susan Jacket List

5) How much do they cost?

Prices range from $100 – $250 depending on style and materials. Sometimes I even have cheaper ones when I try out new methods or designs.

6) Is the back design embroidered?

Sometimes, but fancier design is a mix of fabric paint, sequins and satin fabric. Everything is done by hand, with no patterns or stencils.

8) What sizes do they come in?

I make them in all sizes, usually according to what people are requesting.

9) What color are they?

I do both olive green and black.

10) How do I clean the jacket?

Due to painting and embellishments, I do not recommend dry-cleaning. Try to spot clean and Febreeze. If you must wash, they are best cleaned by hand washing in cold water. You can soak them in soapy water or Woolite, rinse and then hang to dry.

29 thoughts on “Desperately Seeking Susan Jacket replica Top 10 Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Hi i am wanting one of these for my sister for her hen’s party on the 22nd of September 2012.. Are your jackets in US sizes? Will you by any chance be making one that would fit an Australian size 8 within the next few months? As i’m planning to dress her in this attire for the hen’s party as she is in love with this movie.. If you could please let me know that would be great.. Thanks Heaps… I am willing to pay a deposit to secure purchase if needed 🙂

    Like

  2. I would like to order one, but your sizes seem to be a bit small for me. I usually wear a US size 12, and love the greenish one the best. I’d like to get one because I got a front row ticket to an upcoming show in September. I have the original jacket sold on MTV back in 85, but I do not want to wear it because if it gets damaged I’d just die. So this replica would be PERFECT and looks like it’s well made and they look very authentic.

    Like

    • I’m working on a size 4 in leather right now and seeing how that turns out. So it depends on how that works whether I’ll be doing any more in more sizes. I don’t do pre-orders on them because they are completely handmade so every one looks a bit different and I just prefer people see exactly what they are getting before they purchase it. So I make them and post them for sale at http://www.candy-lee.com/desperately-seeking-susan-jacket.html
      I also have a pre-sale e-mail list that I send out when one is ready. I’d be happy to add you to that. I try to only send out the ones that are in the size, color, style that people have requested.

      Like

  3. Hi there, i have been dying to get one of these jackets since first seeing the film (far to many years ago now) and would still really love one, i live in the Uk and i am a uk size 12, i would love one in the original olive green colour. Could you give me any idea if you will be making another one like this in my size in the very near future, many thanks, Mel

    Like

    • Hi Mel,
      I’m trying to work some in between now and Halloween but usually I make most of them during the slower months at the shop, which is Nov-Feb. That’s usually when I’ll have several posted on the site for sale. They take a lot of time to do so it’s hard to make them around Halloween when the costume shop is busy.
      Thanks,
      Candy

      Like

  4. Hi Candy, thanks for getting back to me, i will keep an eye open over the next few months and keep my fingers crossed, thanks again Mel

    Like

  5. Hi again Candy, sorry to bother you just wondered if you would be possibly putting another jacket up for sale before Halloween? Cheers, Mel

    Like

  6. That’s great news, do you think the small would fit a UK size 10, plus how do you go about buying one from you – do you post to the UK? Cheers again Mel

    Like

  7. Hi,im US size 6 and i really want one of these jackets for my 30-th birthday party on 27th this month,can i order one?
    Cheers
    Lidija

    Like

  8. Hi Candy, I’m not on the waiting list, what do you need from me in order to be added? I don’t necessarily need it before Halloween but i’m very interested to know when it’s ready, thanks, Mel

    Like

Leave a Reply

